TPO 29 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement To improve the quality of education universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

For years, in order to compete for more government financial support and greater social recognition, universities have been making efforts to boost their status among the public. Undoubtedly, a as part of the competition, a fierce fight for renowned scientists and researchers is constantly ongoing. Therefore, it is common that universities are spending more money raising their employees’ income and promoting the level of education. In my opinion, such practice makes sense and is even very necessary.

Universities play an important role in exploring novel knowledge and creating new generations of great minds for the society, either of which unquestionably is supposed to be fulfilled by professors whose responsibilities are conducting research on frontier areas and educating prospective scientists, engineers, doctors, etc. With a more sufficient funding for hiring teaching staff, universities will be able to recruit top-level talents as their faculty members. Thus, the most up-to-date knowledge can be passed on to the university students through the lectures of elite scholars. On the other hand, due to the rich rewards, professors will be more motivated and dedicated to distribute larger amount of time and energy for delivering knowledge and expertise. Constant refinement of teaching methodology and content is possible, which guarantees that their quality of teaching keeps pace with the time.

In addition, a well-known reputation of paying great attention to education could be a core asset for universities. A survey suggests that nearly 90% of all students relate the quality of education the most closely to future career opportunities or pursuit of a higher degree. Attempts to build up a positive image like this will naturally attract many talented students and lead to an increase in revenue derived from tuition.

However, if such remuneration is unconditionally provided, it may be likely that professors would take such generous treatment for granted, compromising their initiative and motivation to improve the quality of instructing students. Fortunately, several measures can be taken to balance out the undesirable effects. For example, student assessment and more detailed rating criteria could be introduced to make sure professors’ teaching practice would be evaluated. Moreover, punishment for those who fail to meet the requirements could also be implemented.

To sum up, a better quality of education is what everyone longs for as it has been a common belief that universities, professors and students involved will all benefit.