Parents today are more involved in their children s education than were parents in the past

Since the economic reform started, China has been experiencing various aspects of social and cultural changes in the past 4 decades. However, quite a few traditional values continue to exist and prevail, among which valuing education plays a central role in the day-to-day lives of many households. Thus, I believe that parents today take part in their children’s education as extensively and deeply as their counterparts in the past.

Before the reform and opening-up, due to the approximate socioeconomic condition, people wouldn’t have to work overtime frequently or sacrifice family life for a better standard of living. So they could spend a large proportion of time accompanying their children who were assisted in promotion of academic performance. In addition, it wasn’t until 2 decades ago that the higher education in China had started to enlarge its enrolment, which means once a student was admitted to any university and graduated later a job would be guaranteed and assigned to this graduate. As a result, parents staked their children’s prospects on this once-in-a lifetime opportunity, making any possible efforts to help them achieve better grades.

Nowadays, most adults are busy with their work, thus depriving themselves of much quality time, let alone helping their children with the homework. Another significant change is that, as the curriculum develops, it is very likely that parents wouldn’t possess the specific knowledge and teaching skills for certain subjects. However, Chinese culture traditionally attaches great importance to education as a means of enhancing a person’s worth and career. Instead of directly teaching their children, parents today play an important role of more of a designer and planner for the children’s education. There is still a close link between parents and children in terms of schooling, family education and extracurricular activities.

Many vivid cases keep being witnessed in our life. For example, to explore a child’s talents and interests, a father or mother could spend an hour driving, sending children to a football club. He or she may also have to learn a lot of knowledge about assessment of children’s psychological conditions, methodology of encouragement, arrangement and scheduling of different training sessions and so on. Statistics have shown that there is no noticeable disparity in parent involvement among different times, which means little difference can be seen in terms of parents’ eagerness and participation throughout modern history.

To sum up, given the fact that education, as part of the legacy of the traditional Chinese culture, is highly valued and paid much attention to by parents, it is very understandable that every generation highly respect it to a similarly great extent regardless of time change.