With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched places Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas

Undoubtedly, energy sources are one of the most important issues for human beings because our survival and prosperity closely depend on them. To tackle the insufficiency of energy, it is suggested that exploiting oil and gas in remote places should be taken into consideration. However, I believe that it is not what we are supposed to do.

In many cases, remote areas which have not been inhabited by a large number of people tend to be rich in natural resources, including energy resources like oil and gas. Therefore, extracting oil and gas at these places would be extremely profitable economically, let alone extend the supply of energy for many decades or even centuries. For example, due to the huge profits, many energy companies have already built facilities and factories in Alaska in order to make use of its abundant oil resources there. Practices like this, which result in millions of dollars’ revenue and stabilize the energy market, is not uncommon throughout the world.

However, on the other hand, environmentalists are worried that projects intended for energy extraction may damage the ecology of precious natural reserves. Irreversible consequences or even ecological disasters may occur, given that large-scale industrial activities will completely alter an area. Take some offshore oil platforms for example, there has been many reports on the oil spills which led to the deaths of hundreds of thousands of marine animals as well as severe pollution of vast waters and coasts. Needless to say, it would take years to restore the whole ecosystem or it might be impossible to fix the detrimental effects.

In my opinion, energy resources are not worth sacrificing the nature because we might be living in a heavily polluted world without natural scenery and wildlife.