If people have the opportunity to get a secure job they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying

Some people say that once a secure job is offered to any job seeker, it is more appealing than a position which provides a higher level of satisfaction. However, given the fact that generations nowadays prioritize the realization of self-worth when hunting for job opportunities and most of them aim at notable status and high income, I believe the majority of the workforce are still inclined to take up something more satisfactory.

Undoubtedly, a secure job seems to be quite attractive to many because the job market has been intensely competitive. Even though one is hired after many rounds of competition and elimination, it doesn’t necessarily mean that he or she wouldn’t be fired in the future. In other words, a person won’t feel worried about job security because a secure job significantly reduces the possibility of unemployment. Besides, for those who enjoy a laid-back lifestyle, only with a stable job can they maintain a better work-life balance because distribution of a large proportion of time to work isn’t necessary for them. As a result, individuals can spend way more quality time with their family and friends.

However, many young people intend to choose a profession which really matches up with their interests and ambition. For example, only a small amount of my peers in high school made up their mind to become employees of state-run industries while the rest of them were eager to work for promising firms in the private sector such as Huawei, Tencent and other giants. Young elite people thirst for positions like artificial intelligence researcher, actuary, top executive and so on. It’s obvious that secure jobs just accounts for a very low percentage of all available ones, thus failing to satisfy ambitious people because they cannot make the best of their talents and passions.

Apart from the pursuit of psychological needs, people today are apparently very realistic and materialistic. Almost everyone wants to live a better life and embrace a decent standard of living, which is reasonable and understandable. To order to compete and win, modern private companies value the talent the most, providing them rich rewards and glamorous jobs. Secure jobs are not comparable at all in terms of what can be guaranteed from them. In reality, most people, especially the well-skilled, wouldn’t condescend to put up with a mediocre and stable job if they could be qualified for a well-paid and highly respected one.

In conclusion, few would consider a secure job as their first choice because the rewards are of only average standard. People attempting to achieve a more successful career must have figured out another way to make it happen.