Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed (damaged) by human activity.

Evolution of human species, from prehistoric, quadrupedal and ape-like Hominids, through more advanced, tool-creating Homo Habilis to todays’ Homo Sapiens Sapiens, which is harshly interfering with his surrounding environment on daily basis, has undoubtedly taken some toll on the Earth. The question is, was it worth it? In my opinion, despite some clear drawbacks, the answer is: absolutely yes.

First fact, that truly cannot be contested, is that the human activity has made the planet much more suitable for the mankind living on it. For instance, compared to the stone age, when our evolutionary predecessors lived in caves and fought for survival every single day with other creatures, majority of world’s population lives pretty comfortable life nowadays. And that is thanks to the major agricultural, industrial and technological advancement. One may disagree, and counter that it is all based on immoral exploitation of Earth’s natural resources, encroaching over natural habitat of countless wild animals, and pollution of the environment. In my view however, those things do not make the argument any less truthful. On the contrary, humans are the one species that rules the world, and thus such outcomes should be, from the evolutionary perspective, naturally expected from them.

Secondly, even in spite of adverse effects that we as a humankind have caused, the main point is they do not immediately endanger our survival as a species. Unlike the constant living on the edge of extinction during the prehistoric ages. Moreover, we are basically in control of the situation and with some efforts, we can reduce the collateral damages of our inhabitation to the levels that are manageable in the long run. Those efforts include things such as gradual switching from fossil fuels to renewable sources of energy e.g. wind or solar, using recyclable materials wherever it is technologically and economically possible, or changing our diet to less meat-intensive as it is nowadays.