Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed (damaged) by human activity. Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Evolution of human species, from prehistoric, quadrupedal and ape-like Hominids, through more advanced, tool-creating Homo Habilis to todays’ Homo Sapiens Sapiens, which is harshly interfering with his surrounding environment on daily basis, has undoubtedly taken some toll on the Earth. The question is, was it worth it? In my opinion, despite some clear drawbacks, the answer is: absolutely yes.

First fact, that truly cannot be contested, is that human activity has made the planet much more suitable for the mankind living on it. For instance, compared to the stone age, when our evolutionary predecessors lived in caves and fought for survival every single day, majority of world’s population nowadays lives pretty comfortable life. And that is thanks to the major agricultural, industrial and technological advancement based on nothing else than exploitation of Earth’s natural resources, encroaching over natural habitat of countless wild animals, and pollution the environment. That does not make the argument any less truthful, however.

Secondly, even in spite of adverse effects that we as a humankind caused, the main point is they do not immediately endanger our survival as a species, unlike the constant living on the edge of extinction during the prehistoric ages. Moreover, we are basically in control of the situation and with some efforts, we can reduce the collateral damages of our inhabitation to the levels that are manageable in the long run. Those efforts include things such as gradual switching from fossil fuels to renewable sources of energy e.g. wind or solar, using recyclable materials wherever it is technologically and economically possible, or changing our diet to less meat-intensive as it is nowadays.