Some people like to travel with a companion. Other people prefer to travel alone. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice (from the Official TOEFL Guide).

Nowadays, tourism is becoming more popular and accessible than ever was before and travelers can be divided into two major groups: those who like to travel in groups or with a companion and those who favor going on trips alone. Personally, I prefer to travel with someone, either in duo or with a couple of friends. I will address the reasons why I feel this way in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, having a travel buddy is much safer than going on a trip by yourself. Being alone in a foreign country, one may be more susceptible to getting scammed, robbed or taken advantage of. On the contrary, while in pair or a group, there are constantly more eyes and minds observing any situation, being aware of its potential risks and dangers. Moreover, even a random unfortunate event such as losing your cellphone, wallet or a suitcase can be dealt with undoubtedly easier if you have a friend or two, who still have their stuff with them.

Secondly, travelling with someone can be more fun and satisfying as well. You can plan your trip together, share opinions and joint experiences which you may then remember for the rest of your life. For instance, during summer break two years ago, I was road tripping in Baltics and Northern Europe with two of my buddies for almost three weeks and all the joys and troubles we went through together made it unforgettable for each of us. Additionally, having a travel buddy probably helps talking to locals and meeting new people too, because as a lone stranger one can look intimidating and therefore less approachable by others.

In conclusion, I easily prefer having a buddy on a trip with me over going on one by myself only. Major reasons why I feel this way are safety, dealing with unexpected emergencies, having someone to share with and talk to about your experiences and easier connecting with locals as well.