Some people believe that electing a constitutional assembly is the best way to address modifications to the constitution, while others believe that a group of experts should be responsible for this task.

One of the mains demands of the Chilean mobilization is the creation of a new constitution. In order to do this, it is not enough that a group of experts develop the task, actually electing a constitutional assembly is the best way to address modifications to the constitution. The main two reasons are the following.

A constitutional assembly is an opportunity of legitimate rendering of the citizens in democracy. In Chile there has been a crisis in the political representativeness and the political class is far away from the necessity of the majority. This can be seen in the results of the transparency study where the poll shows that 91% of the Chileans don’t have or almost don’t have trust in the politics to solve the problems of the country. As a matter of fact, 54% of the citizens think that an constitutional assembly is the best way to achieve a constitutional change. Therefore the conformation of an assembly can be an opportunity to recover the representativeness through the election of its own delegates. And this connects with the next argument.

With the constitutional assembly the citizens can start a process of civic education and participation that can help to soothe the discontentment. In this context this kind of process are meaningful, at least this is seen for example, in the formation of town meetings, convened in different parts of the country with vast participation, that has channeled this needs to discuss problems related to the social discontent. Also the self-managed education has become relevant in the last weeks. For example, one of the book most sold in these weeks was the Chilean constitution so a lot of people, including myself, are doing research and making responsible about the civic and constitutional education. In my personal experience this reflection is making me feel better and more quiet about the crisis when its put in some formal or informal assemblies or ways of discussions.

For all the arguments given above electing a constitutional assembly is the best way to address modifications to the constitution due to the opportunity to recover the representativeness and to soothe the social discontentment through the opening to a process of civil education and participation.