Some people believe that human needs for farmland, industry, and… are more important than saving lands for endangered species. Agree/ disagree?

In the modern era and especially after the industrial revolution, the extent of exploiting the earth’s resources has raised a lot of debate among academicians. Some intellectuals hold the view that in order to achieve a swift transition into a modernized world we should make use of the world's resources as far as we can. However, others may take the opposite viewpoint and believe that it is wiser to pursue a sustainable and harmonious future rather than just making more profits out of the world. I personally favor the latter notion and will elaborate on my standpoint through some notable reasons in the following paragraphs.

My first reason and maybe the most significant one is that in my opinion, the world we live in belongs to all creatures, not the most dominant ones, human beings. It is not really fair to exert our power to displace other species from their natural habitats and endanger their lives while they have the same right to survive as us. I believe that if humans intend to create a charming and fantastic world, they should keep the balance there is now between all of the components of nature and not interfere with that.

The second reason I want to emphasize is that our intervention in nature has not already produce suitable results. People have already disturbed the balance existing between various species and prevent the cycles of life from proceeding in the normal way. Implementing development policies without paying enough attention to the complexity of terrestrial and marine life has led to a lot of disturbances to the wildlife throughout the world. Although decision-makers may think that their plans only involve deforestation of a small area of a jungle, they in fact have determined to ruin a plethora of elaborate predator-prey relationships which were previously established between a large variety of species over a long time. It results in putting a lot of threatened animals and plants, in that area and neighboring places, in danger of extinction. Humans should be aware of the negative consequences of their harmful actions on nature and attach more importance to environmental and sustainable concerns to preserve the world for all of its residents.

Lastly, we may have made a trip to an intact forest and remembered how impressive and extraordinary it was to look at a wide range of animals and plants. I personally get great pleasure out of breathing in that environment, because I sense I am just a minute part of a massive world. When I am out in a forest, the life and work pressures and concerns no longer irritate me since I am not now an engineer or father here, but I am a tiny component of nature. I think it is our responsibility to protect the grandeur and glory of wildlife and preserve it for the next generations. Beyond financial and developmental goals, people should appreciate the moment a bird drinks water from the edge of a lake and takes food for its chicks.

To sum up, based on the aforementioned arguments, there are a myriad of reasons that convince me to support the opinion that we should save habitats of threatened species. Some of the reasons, such as respecting the right of other species to live on the Earth, preventing disturbances to the cycles of life, and appreciation of the beauty and grandeur of the world, are mentioned above. However, that was like a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are some other reasons and examples challenging the claim, which are not mentioned above. All in all, I firmly, believe that the appealing aspects of the natural world are worth being saved.