Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health. Others , however, believe that governments should take care of people’s health, so they should implement some rules and laws for that.

It goes without saying that in this sophisticated modern era, one of the most important concerns of many governments around the world is decreasing health of their citizens. A country can never make progress in science, technology, economy, and so on without having healthy nations. In this respect, some efforts must be made to alleviate the situation. The controversial question which arises here is whether governments should shoulder the improving health of their citizens or it is up to individuals. As far as I am concerned, intervention states could ensure health of their people but the role of each individual cannot be disregarded.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that the more advanced and improved public transportation could lead to the lower air pollution. So, governments should allocate a substantial amount of budget to this section, which can certainly contribute to a better environmental condition, and consequently, healthier nations. An example can drive this notion home. Once, I read an article in one website about the newly-established regulation in one of the metropolitan cities in the USA a couple of month ago. It was mentioned in the article, the mayor of the that city decided to dedicate a large portion of budget to improving the public transportation hoping that the air quality and public health will enhance. After eight or night months, results were amazing. According to environmentalists’ and public health center reports, there were a dramatic decrease in the number of pollutants and respiratory diseases. So, not only did this rule provide that city with a suitable infrastructure, but it also led to a sharp improvement in the health of citizens.

On the other hand, there is no doubt that individuals must take some responsibility for their health. To be more specific, people could surprisingly improve their health just by stopping doing some activities. Nowadays, people have desk-bound lifestyle as a result of possibilities and facilities offered by the modern technology such as using cars for going everywhere instead of walking and sitting in front of computer for long time. Besides, there is serious issues associated with nutrition. Although governments have been making some great efforts in improving quality of nourishment, individuals make ultimate decision in choosing type of nutrition. For instance, instead of consuming good nutrition including vegetables, fresh foods, and so forth, there is growing tendency among people to eat fast food and other meals that contain saturated fat. The results are easily predictable. Health problems like heart failure and cancer are increasing at an alarming rate, and the situation is very likely to deteriorate in future. Indeed, if people took care more about themselves, there would be fewer health problems. To put it in a more vivid picture, one of my best friends had sedentary lifestyle, to say nothing of his bad eating habits. All of these together resulted in his liver cancer, and unfortunately, he died young, at the age of 28. Had my friend done a little exercise and prevented himself from eating fast food, which is definitely a personal choice, he would be alive enjoying himself.

In conclusion, having aforementioned reasons and examples into account, one can infer that to have healthy nations, a combination of governments and individuals’ effort is required. Government by enacting some proper rules and individuals by paying more attention to their health and avoiding doing some bad activities could improve public health.