Some people believe school cafeterias should stop selling soft drinks and other high-sugar drinks, while others think students should have a choice in what they drink. Which option do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The school cafeteria is the place where kids suppose to get the healthiest and best prep food for its give information to a student what is the proper meals to eat or not. Moreover, it is also set an example on how important balanced diet and exercise are. I believe the school canteen should only provide the healthy choice of drink and prohibited the selling of high carbonated and sugary drinks. I would like to explain my idea based on academically, economically, and medically perspective.

Academically, by providing those drinks, school implicitly gives permission and agreement to a student for consuming something harmful. It projects bad precedent that not only school disregard the problem but also children do not need to take care of their body. This could be expanded to drinks alcohol excessively or using drugs since in the mind of the kids, it is okay to consume something pernicious as long it is fulfilling and delicious.

Economically, the soft drinks are more expensive than juices or milk. I also want to put emphasis in the risk of future health expenses. Based on the research, children who obese more likely to get heart disease, hypertension and diabetes mellitus when they older. This could put the high burden to the country economy and quite detrimental to individual financial status.

Medically, a high-calorie drink that contains high sugar is damaging especially to kids who still in developing and puberty phase. This type of drink will exacerbate obesity, hormonal imbalance and affects their growth. School as education institution should prevent this for the sake of kids’ well-being.

Ultimately, with all the stated reason I believe that the soft drinks and high sugary drinks should be banned at an education institution for the sake of future generations.