Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people solve problems as a group, they come up with better solution that if they were to try to solve the problem individually. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teamwork duped as one of an essential part in managing problems. A lot of people think with more head, more ideas, therefore, more solution for the problem. However, I believe the contrary, based on my experience, the problem dissolved better when it is individually managed for several reasons.

First, a member of the team not always has a suitable competency to solve the problem. Yes, they could give us a different perspective on the matter through various education backgrounds, but their argument could do more harm than direct us to the solution. Take, for example, the doctor discussing management of head injury where patients need the expensive MRI since one of the members is insurance collector, he against the idea and think the CT scan more cost-effective. As a consequence, there is delayed in patients’ management.

Second, with too many heads, there will be a problem to reach a consensus. Especially with a lot of smart and capable team member, not only they could give a various solution but also the negative side of it.

For instance, when I work with a waste management team member, they could not decide where is the suitable location to build the main dump site since every member has a rightful reason to deny each other.

Finally, it is very hard to evaluate mistake with many people involved. What I mean is when the project took the wrong turn, we unable to detect the mistake early since there are a lot of task transfers in the team. Most of the times, we catch the mistake in the end of the program and it’s too late to mitigate it. This would not happen if there were only one person worked on the project.

The art of solving problem is very complicated with most of us agree that team-based approach is the best way. However, all things considered, I believe that a problem needs to be solved individually.