Some people believe that smaller colleges and universities provide students with a better educational experience by for example offering more individual attention to each student Other people believe that larger colleges and universities provide a better

A glance at people's attitudes towards educational experience brings to the light question that has been asked several times, namely, whether universities with big scale can offer better educational quality, or small universities can do it better. Were I forced to choose, I would prefer the latter point of view rather the former one, and I will elaborate on my reasons in the following essay.

The first reason worth mentioning is that the time each school can allocate to a single student is a key factor that contributes to education quality. To be more specific, in a smaller university, the ratio of students and teachers is far less than it is in larger schools, which indicates each teacher carries the responsibility of taking care of fewer students. In that case, teachers can spend more time scrutinizing students' homework and figuring out their errors, while students can have more interaction with teachers. Take Brown University in the US as an example. In recent years, the school is not as big as other public universities and has a higher teacher-student ratio, which allows students to have ample opportunities to meet with professors and do researches with them. Following this pattern, Brown University is regarded as one of the best universities in the US for hundreds of years.

Secondly, studying in a smaller university, more often than not, means students can own more resources provided by the school. There is no need for them to spend a lot of time competing limited academic resources with other students but can allocate those precious time to deepen their research or improve grades. On the other side, schools can also benefit from this pattern, by saving a lot of budget from investing in public infrastructures to more advanced types of equipment for students and teachers to do research.

A voice arises that larger universities can provide students with a better experience, however, this claim needs to be scrutinized meticulously. Admittedly, although larger schools always have a more diverse and vivid atmosphere, what the students really need in college is better academic resources and help from teachers. To put this into perspective, it is crystal clear that smaller universities which can offer more help in the academic field are much more proper for students.

In conclusion, drawing upon what I have mentioned above, I strongly hold the opinion that studying in smaller universities can have a better educational experience. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand people’s eyes, I firmly believe my opponents would yield after being shown to my article.