Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

Attending university is a very important part of our lives. University is the first social place that many young people attend. It is the first place that students think they have opportunity to make decisions for their lives and so it is important that how they spend this stage of their lives. Some people believe that attending university classes should be optional rather than required; others would disagree. In my view, attending university classes should be optional for the following reasons.

First and foremost, some students cannot be present in the classes. Being in all the classes need financial support from the families and so the students who are from poor families who have to work do not have enough time to be in a class. For example, when I was at Melbourne University in Australia, my roommate’s father died in an accident. It was awful because after that her family facing fainancial crisis and inorder to overcome this problem she started to work and help her mother as she was the oldest children in her family. Thus, she was absent in all classes and because of that they made her to abandon the university and I knew how much she loved to continue her studies and become an architect. As you can see, it is not easy for all the students to be present in the classes and I think changing some old rules is really required because of the conditions that students are struggling with in today’s world.

Another reason is that making aatending classes optional causes the classes become more efficient. By making this change not only student who are in the class are in that place with their own wish, but also teachers try harder to convince and encourage the students to be present in their classes and so it is possible to examine the teacher’s performance. For instance, last week I read in the newspaper that they made a research to understand the efficiency of the students in classes that are optional or are not. For this purpose they chose to universities. In the first one students were forced to be present in the class and in the second one they have the opportunity to decide whether they want to be in that class or prefer not to attend that class. At the end of the semester, they took the same exam from both groups of the students and it becomes clear that in the second one the result was a lot better that the first one and they claimed that it is better to encourage the students to attend classes than force them to do so.

In sum, though some may believe that students are not mature enough to make the best decision for their lives and we have to force them to attend classes, but as you can see not only forcing the students will not help them, but it also take away opportunity to have a better life from some of them. And I think we have to remember that most of the scientists and successful people were from poor family and it is important to think about poor students too. I think all universities should reconsider their rules about attending classes.