Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

Attending university is the most important part of many students. For most of the adolescents it is the first social place that they have the opportunity to meet different people with different cultures and it is also first place that they started to think and make decisions for their future. Some people think that university student have to be required to attend classes because of different reasons like they are not mature enough to understand what is good for them; others would disagree. In my view attending classes should be optional for the following reasons.

First and foremost, for some students it is not possible to attend classes, even though they really want. Being present in classes needs financial support of the family because the students do not have enough time to work and earn money. For example, back in New York, while I was in university, I had a roommate named Sarah. She was really intelligent and she really liked to be a architect. When she was a junior, her father died in a car accident. As she was the oldest child of the family, she started to work in a shop store to help her family to overcome their financial crisis that they faced after her father’s death. Thus, she was absent in all classes. After a month they made her to abandon her studies even though she got great marks in her studies. It was awful because I knew how badly she wanted to be an architect and I think it was not fair for her. As you can see by making attending the classes compulsory, they may ruin the future of some students that cannot be present in classes.

Second, it has been shown that when classes are optional, the efficiency of the students increases. Last week I read in the newspaper that in Germany scientists conduct a research in which they study the effect of making classes optional on students learning behavior. In this research they study two different classes with same teachers. At the first class students had to be present in all sessions. In the second one, attending classes was optional. At the end of the semester, the result was phenomenal. In the second class, the students were 2 times better than the other class. The researcher reported that when students have the opportunity to be absent in the classes, they will be present in the class with their own wish and with more energy. So the efficiency of the class will be increased. Also, the researchers notice that when the class was optional, the professors tried harder and taught better too. So, it is obvious that compulsory education do not have a good results.

In sum, though sum may believe that students are not still ready to make good decisions for themselves, but as you can see when they are allowed to decide for their life they get better results. Not only will it help them to be responsible for their lives but also it will prepare them for important decisions in future. I think all the universities have to consider these result and change their rules.