I agree that people should never make a crucial decision, in a particular situation, by themselves because, often, we lack the appropriate knowledge or experience to act in that situation, we have a limited perspective to make a decision, and sometimes our decision could get effected by our personal bias. In the following passage, I will explore these reasons in detail.

After my graduation, when I got my first internship offer, I rejected it on my own without consulting it with anyone else. Now, I regret about that decision. I had a limited knowledge in my field then and underestimated the opportunity they provided. Soon, after rejecting I was unable to find any offer which even came close to what my first internship offered. They were more than generous about the offer, when they saw my motivation to learn. But unfortunately, it was not for me. So, due to this experience I highly believe in my opinion.

Second, when we make a decision on our own, unconsciously we have a personal bias to it. For instance, recently I started investing my money in stock market. Even I had enough knowledge to make decision on my own, I bought a stock named L&T just because I am from a construction background and admire the work company does. But the experts warned about not investing in that stock because it might tank down in future. And currently I am in loss due to this particular stock. This experience again explains my rationale behind not making decisions alone.

Finally, asking someone to help us out benefits us by their input because different people have different perspective about the same thing. For example, when I was preparing my statement of purpose for the undergraduate application, I thought to write it down on my own and submit. But, when I gave that SOP to few of my professors to proofread it, they found several things that might go wrong. I would have never seen identified it from my perspective but as they themselves had experience to review these types of applications for his own school. they were able to catch it. I definitely think it helped me to improve my application.

In conclusion, due to the mermaid of above reasons I believe we should never do a mistake of making our important decisions by ourselves.