Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

I believe that after twenty years, we will have more cars than we have today. In the following passage, we will examine, why I feel this way.

First, the major problem with car today is that they run on fuel and causes a lot of pollution. But in 20 years period, we can expect a major shift in the number of electric cars. Today, they are not economical for the average consumer, but with advanced research, the technology will improve, and they will be more feasible for consumers. Then it will be more common to see electric cars on roads when compared to today. With the rise of electric vehicles, the problem of pollution will be solved which can be a major factor leading to lesser use of cars in future. Moreover, we can see cities like Los Angeles and San Francisco, are not built keeping in mind the use of public transport and therefore it will now be more difficult to change the model of these types of cities. With the rise of electric cars, the number of cars in these types of the city is, surely, not going to decrease.

Second, with the rise of educated people in a country like India, more and more people are shifting their lives to a city. This will lead to a rise in the population of cities. With the rise in electric vehicles, more people are going to buy a car for their families. In a country like India, a car signifies the status of people. Due to this type of mentality, the car market in these types of the country will rise.

Finally, Governments will encourage people to use public transport more often, but this will not stop people from buying a car for themselves. People could use public transport for going to their jobs, but they will buy a car to travel with their families. Also, with the rise in global temperature, people will prefer to travel by car more frequently.

Due to the above reasons, I feel the number of cars in upcoming years is going to rise.