Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Spending leisure time on the things we love to do is what I believe will help in things which we should do - assuming it to be our job work. The reasons due to which I feel this way will be examined in the following passage.

First, Spending most of our time in doing our work will, I think, lead to reduced productivity, cluttered mind, sore mind, etc. So, often we should take free time from our work and spend some quality time with the things we admire. It will divert our mind, will help our mind to replenish itself and we will also feel high and happy. As a result, it will automatically have a positive effect on the work we do and will help to reduce the time spent on the same amount of work to do. For instance, Japanese people believe in a work culture in which their employees work 4 days per week and rest of the 3 days are being left free from themselves. In this time, they can learn a new skill which can help them to upskill themselves or they can spend this leisure time doing things they love to do like playing sports, spending time with their family, visiting some place, etc. Researchers have found this lifestyle to be one of the best to be more productive in their work and maintaining a good work life balance.

Second, Spending time in doing some other activity like playing cricket in their free time can also help them in developing their soft skills and critical thinking ability. On top of that, they can also meet new people and build connections while spending time on different activities. For example, while playing cricket, one needs to work as a team. A player needs to effectively communicate with other players in the game in order to play better. In time of critical situation, a captain needs to build a strategy by critically thinking what can happen in a tense situation keeping his mind calm, consequently thinking about different outcomes to win the game. These all skills come handy in our day-to-day job, which in turn helps us to perform better. Also, different players come from different career background, so we can explore new things and expose ourselves to new ideas while communicating with them.

Due to above mentioned reasons, I feel we should spend more time in doing what we enjoy.