Some people prefer to ask for advice before making an important decision Others feel that it is best to make these decisions alone Which do you prefer Give reasons and examples to support your opinion

I agree that people should never make a crucial decision, in a particular situation, by themselves because, often, we lack the appropriate knowledge or experience to act in that situation, we have a limited perspective to make a decision, and sometimes our decision could get effected by our personal bias. In the following passage, I will explore these reasons in detail.

After my graduation, when I got my first internship offer, I rejected it on my own without consulting with anyone else. Now, I regret that decision. I had limited knowledge in my field then and underestimated the opportunity they provided. Soon, after rejecting that offer, I was unable to find any other offer which even came close to what my first internship offered; they were more than generous about the offer when they saw my motivation to learn. But unfortunately, it was not for me. So, due to this experience, I highly believe in my opinion.

Second, when we decide on something on our own, unconsciously we have a personal bias toward it. For instance, recently, I started investing my money in the stock market. Even though I had enough knowledge to decide on my own which stocks to buy, I bought a stock named L&T just because I am from a construction background and admire the work company does. But the experts warned about not investing in that stock because it might tank down in future; therefore, I am at a loss due to this particular stock. This experience again explains my rationale behind not making decisions alone.

Finally, asking someone to help us out, benefits us through their input because different people have different perspectives about the same thing. For example, when I was preparing my statement of purpose for the undergraduate application, I thought to write it down on my own and submit it. But, when my professor asked the SOP to see for themselves, they found several things that might go wrong. I would have never identified it from my perspective but as he reviews these types of applications for his school, he was able to catch it. As a result, it helped me to improve my application.

In conclusion, due to the mermaid of the above reasons I believe we should never do the mistake of making important decisions by ourselves.