Some people prefer to get up early in the morning and start the day’s work. Others prefer to get up later in the day and work late until late at night. Which do you prefer?

Sleep is an inseparable factor from human beings’ life, and sleep habits can have either beneficial or detrimental effects on human life. Generally, there are two kinds of sleep habits among people. One is that people get up early in the morning, start the day’s work, and sleep at an appropriate time at night, while another is that people wake up later in the morning, work until late at night, and sleep later at night. I prefer the former as a result of its positive psychological and health effects.

The first sleep habit has such an immensely positive psychological effect on people that they do their work in an efficacious, prompt, and enthusiastic manner every day. To illustrate what I precisely mean by this, I would like to provide more information. People waking up early in the morning perform much of their work during the daytime, for example until noon, which leads to satisfaction. This satisfaction psychologically affects people, and people continue to follow their work with peace of mind and high spirits. In other words, this feeling of satisfaction can increase an individual’s concentration on his or her work, and then implicitly ameliorates their productivity. On the other hand, people with the latter sleep habit witness their falling behind in their work over the course of the morning as compared to people with the former one. In addition, in order to complete their work, they have to work at nighttime while people in the other group are resting or enjoying recreation. Therefore, they commonly feel a sense of losing a competition, which results in low spirits and low efficiency. This everyday annoying sense accumulates over time, and eventually can cause severe depression.

In addition to negative psychological effects, staying awake until late at night can pose extremely serious health problems. Research has shown that human bodies start throwing away their waste materials and purifying themselves after midnight, as long as humans are asleep. Being awake until late at night disturbs this natural process and causes extreme health problems such as the failure of a heart, a liver, or a brain as time passes. These people have to spend a large amount of money and time on their treatment in the hope that their health will recover. There are also other far-reaching consequences not only for their fellow citizens but also for their country. Too many pecuniary sources, raised by paying taxes for vital measures like education and research, need to be allocated to cure diseases which could easily have been prevented by altering the bad habit. If this process continues for a long time, their country will be plagued with unhealthy human resource, the most precious and constructive resource in developing any nation.

To sum up, I do believe that awakening early has at least two conspicuously important merits, namely positive psychological effects and healthy organs, and I will attempt to adhere to it. I also wish that people would strive to be accustomed to getting up early in order to benefit from its above-mentioned advantages.