Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A person should never make an important decision alone.

Making a decision is an inseparable action from daily human life. Human beings face a large number of situations they have to decide what to do. While most of their decisions during a day might have insignificant effects on their lives and can easily be changed at any point in the future, a small number of decisions can substantially affect their lives in a beneficial or detrimental manner, and their results cannot readily be alleviated or be irrevocable. Given my experience, I ironically disagree with the idea that any individual has to consult with other people and never decide alone while they are dealing with important decisions.

The first reason I provide has to with consultants’ common behaviors and features. Although it stands to reason that no one in the world knows all facts, it is not evident that one’s consultants, usually one’s friends and family, have more information and knowledge than him or her. Even if consultants are knowledgeable enough, they virtually air their opinions ambiguously in that they do not want to be engaged in subsequent probably unfavorable consequences. As a result, such vague and implicit advice and suggestions do not help people choose an appropriate option, but rather heighten their doubtfulness and confusion. Additionally, instead of relying on too cautious consultants, people can use the Internet to gather the objective information and knowledge on which they can confidently base their decision process on their own.

Another reason is associated with the fact that people will not take responsibility for their decisions when their decision results are undesirable. They will also blame their consultants for their unreasonable suggestion. Refusing the acceptance of decision responsibilities is more perilous than the incorrect decision itself, since if people do not accept the consequences of their decisions, they will not make a modicum of effort to restore occurring circumstances. I subscribe to the idea that people unconsciously want to postpone their responses to the problems and hardships they run into and to eliminate their concerns by consulting with other people. Nonetheless, they forget that the only person finally having to take an action according to their conditions is themselves, and the vague and indirect suggestion they receive is only an ephemeral painkiller.

In conclusion, I do consent to the stance that people should rely only on themselves when they make critical decisions on the ground that consultants virtually express vague suggestions, and people accept the responsibility of their decisions and attempt to succeed. I wish everyone would comprehend that no one is in their situations and that they are the only person to help themselves.