TPO 41- Do you agree or disagree with following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It stands to reason that being a teacher is an absolutely essential job in any society because a teacher can nurture beneficial persons who have positive effects on their society or even on the world. In spite of their significance, in today's world, I think that teachers are less appreciated by individuals than in the past. I provide two main reasons for supporting my viewpoint hereunder.

The first and foremost reason why I think so is that teachers were the only means to teach eager people new lessons in the past. Both the number of teachers and alternative means for learning were extremely scarce some years ago, with the result that teachers were treated in a respective and esteemed manner in the past. Nowadays, in contrast, there are a large number of new means for learning and education such as online programs, educational videos, and didactic software, resulting in a decline in the demand for teachers. On the other side, an increase in the number of teachers causes a low level of accessibility to teachers to lessen, and therefore the esteemed status of teachers decreases.

Another reason is that there are more educated people in the present-day world. In my view, the more educated people become, the less they appreciate their elementary teachers. This is because erudite and scholarly people think they are more knowledgeable than their former teachers in their schools. It is evident that the number of educated people in today’s world increases in comparison with the past, so teachers are taken for granted nowadays.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I do unfortunately subscribe to the view that teachers are taken for granted today on account of the existence of both more new means to teach and more learned people as compared to the past. In addition, I wish people all around the world would realize that they are on the wrong track and regard teachers as a more priceless resource in their society.