If you could make one important change in the educational system of your country, what change would you make?

The education system is of paramount importance in any country, since it can significantly contribute to nurturing influential persons serving substantial benefits to their countries. Were I in charge of such a critical system in my country, the first change I would make would be revising its current curriculums due to removing obsolete courses and adding state-of-the-art courses.

In my country, a large percentage of courses during the education period, in particular during the university period, are either outdated or irrelevant to the students’ majors. For instance, a mathematic student has to pass virtually 24 credits out of 140 credits in general courses such as literature, theology, and so forth, which have nothing to do with his or her field of study and are forgotten easily. With this in mind, I would swiftly delegate the responsibility of identifying both abolished and irrelevant courses in any major to a committee, including experienced scholars, and then I would eliminate them. By doing so, the number of courses required in majors would diminish, and students would have more free time. This created free time would use in two ways. The first one is that students would be graduated and pushed toward the labor market sooner than could they before implementing the change. The second and more important one is that students would have time to concentrate on their main courses, with the result that they would learn the vital courses in a profound and in-depth fashion by reading distinguishing specialized textbooks or conducting complex projects close to reality.

With the passage of time, the world in which we live has significantly changed as a result of the astounding rate at which technologies have improved and developed. Therefore, there are a number of novel practical fields in any major which are required by employers on the job market. Hence, adding appropriate state-of-the-art or practical courses corresponding to this situation by a committee of scholars having a close relationship with industries is a reasonable action so that knowledgeable, competent graduates would be brought up. Otherwise, graduates would need more both time and training to impeccably fulfill their duties in their jobs, which squanders the precious time and resources of companies. In other words, up-to-date graduates can lead to increasing the productivity of companies. To illuminate my purpose, I provide a tangible example with regard to a useful course that can be added to most of the majors. The usage of computers in any major, specifically in engineering fields, is inevitable in the present-day world. Practically, any main software of any major can be joined to the C programming language. Accordingly, if students learn this programming language, they can work with a number of different pieces of software rapidly by learning only one programming language rather than fundamentally different ones. As a result, graduates would convert into multi-skilled employees, and then the cost of hiring as well as training of companies would decrease

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I do believe that the education system can bring up qualified graduates and increase the productivity of companies by revising the curriculum of majors. For this reason, if I could make one fundamental change, I would reform ongoing curriculums.