How do movies or television influence people’s behavior?

Television is definitely one of the essential inventions in the world, and like other inventions created all through history, it has not completely beneficial or detrimental effects on the world and people. The merits and the demerits of television are discussed hereunder so that we can conclude whether or not its advantages outweigh its disadvantages.

The plus point about the television is that it makes people around the world aware of what happens around the globe. People can aware of important news by news channels, although news channels might be biased about some news and manipulate it. Therefore, people should be cautious about possible lies spread by the news to deceive people, particularly in underdeveloped, dictatorial countries. Another benefit of television is didactic programs about various subjects such as documentaries about creatures of the Earth and scientific matters. On the other hand, there are some harmful programs on TV like violent movies promoting violence and truculence. This kind of TV program affects adolescents in a deleterious manner. For instance, I remember reading in one of the news websites about murder done by a juvenile in the same way done in the famous series Breaking Bad.

It stands to reason that the main purpose of the television in the present-day world is to entertain people. As time passed, watching TV and movies account for a large portion of people’s free time. It, therefore, has replaced or at least reduced the other kind of recreational activities such as going to nature, camping, visiting our relatives, and doing sports, to name but a few. These somewhat forgotten activities not only occupy people’s leisure time but also help them be both physically and mentally healthy. Thus, it is no wonder that people in the modern-day world suffer from a wide range of diseases resulting from a new lifestyle. As far as I am concerned, this is a serious disadvantage of TV. It should be noted that watching TV and movies is not really needed a large amount of preparation; people can only turn on their TVs and spend their free time. In addition, it can be done either alone or with our friends as well as families. As a result, it is a proper way to make ourselves amused alone, especially when we have to be alone like today’s situations imposed on the world’s people by COVID-19.

In conclusion, I subscribe to the view that like other inventions, television and movies should be used in a controlled manner so that its benefits can outweigh its drawbacks. Moreover, I do believe that most people in the world use its advantages rather than its disadvantages, with the result that there are no severe concerns about its adverse effects on people.