Too much education is dangerous. If people receive more education than they need to function in their job, it only breeds dissatisfaction. To what extend do you agree with this?

In the present-day world in which we live, new technologies and sciences have been developed at an astounding rate. Any individual should keep pace with such developments in order to succeed in his or her profession. However, how much education a person should receive is a heated controversy. As far as I am concerned, the amount of education everyone needs to receive should be commensurate to their job needs, and more education than such amount leads to dissatisfaction.

Everything a person learns has to be applied in a way in order to be reviewed; otherwise, it can be forgotten. There is no exception for education. If people receive more education than they need to function in their jobs, much of it will not be used, and as time passes, their knowledge and skills they have acquired will be forgotten and lost. People invest a large amount of their precious time to obtain such education and knowledge. Therefore, by forgetting them, they feel dissatisfaction because they think they have squandered their invaluable time that they could have spent on other beneficial activities such as staying with their family as well as earning money.

The more advanced education people get, the more complicated knowledge they need to learn. Learning complex knowledge which people never need to fulfill their duties and responsibilities in jobs has two implicit consequences. The first one is that learning advanced sciences requires people to spend enormous time and attention on them. On the other hand, receiving enough education to do jobs properly leads people not only to spend less time and attention, but also to enter the labor market earlier. The second one is that people learning advanced knowledge often think fastidiously, and they erroneously think that more complex knowledge is required to address the practical world problems and their job requirements. Therefore, they almost always reluctantly engage in practical work and problems, resulting in less experience they gain. Eventually, these two implicit consequences give rise to an explicit one which is people receiving too much education commonly fall behind their peers in a number of aspects, conspicuous of which is financial.

To sum up, I strongly subscribe to the idea that people receiving more education than they need to efficiently fulfill their jobs are dissatisfied on the ground that they forget much of them, and they lag behind their peers, specifically financially. In addition, I wish human beings would adhere to a proverb that says, “Enough is good enough.” so as to have a relaxed and peaceful life.