What qualities do you think a manager should possess in order to be successful in his or her job?

One of the vital positions in any company is management, which leads a giant corporation either to bankruptcy or to profitability. With this in mind, a manager has to have a number of features so as to successfully manage a company, among which being knowledgeable and being fair are most conspicuous.

In the present-day world in which knowledge and technologies develop at a galloping rate thanks to the power computers and artificial intelligence provide for human beings, the existence of a knowledgeable manager who has a good educational background is essential. A knowledgeable manager can be insightful and resourceful. Regarding the insightfulness a highly educated manager can provide for a company using various scientific methods he or she has learned, I can point out to how he or she can predict the future markets and needs accurately in order to invest in a profitable area. For example, in today’s world, the significance of energy, efficient batteries, and sweet water resources is not obscured to any educated and perceptive individual, with the result that a knowledgeable manager identifies them as beneficial investment fields. As to how a knowledgeable manager’s being resourceful can be beneficial for companies, I refer to a situation in which an educated manager observes their company’s problems and difficulties; then, he or she can promptly find out the possible roots of the problems and solve them by virtue of their knowledge acquired in an academic environment.

Another critical characteristic a manager should have is to be fair toward their employees. Inequities are the potential roots of any dissatisfaction. If a manager does not differentiate between employees who are competent and do their best to improve their company and employees who are indifferent about their company and do their duties in a dilatory and inappropriate fashion, the manager will ruin the fundamental rules that bring about an efficient, profitable company. A fair manager, therefore, should create an appropriate incentive for their employees such as raising their salaries and monetary rewards so that employees make more efforts to fulfill their responsibilities expeditiously.

This essay has attempted to present two essential features a successful manager should possess so that the company he or she manages is prosperous. As far as I am concerned, being knowledgeable and fair are of paramount importance among potential qualities a competent manager should have. I wish managers with these qualities are allowed to take charge of companies in order to benefit not only the companies but also their employees and societies.