Some people prefer interactive classes others prefer to only listen to the teacher speak Which do you prefer

Whereas some people like studying in an interactive environment, others prefer not having to participate in a class. Personally, I prefer classes that ask students to interact with one another and their teacher. I feel this way for two reasons which I will examine in this essay.

First of all, interactive classes help students gain a better understanding of the topic. Obviously, if students do not interact with others, they only adapt one way of thinking. In contrast, if they discuss the topic in a group, they are necessarily confronted with different ideas. Consequently, they must critically think about these ideas which expands their minds. As a result, they learn much more than those students who only know their point of view. For example, at university I took some courses which required a lot of group work and others where I only listened to what the teacher said. At the end of my studies, I realized that I had acquired a much broader and deeper knowledge in those courses where I had interacted with others than in those where I had merely listened to the teacher speak. Furthermore, I managed to remember the topics of the interactive classes for quite some time, while I quickly forgot those of the non-interactive classes. Hence, interacting with others did not only help me understand the subject better, but also enabled me to remember the relevant information for a longer period of time.

Second, interacting with others allows students to improve their communication skills. Evidently, if they have to discuss a specific topic with others, they must present their ideas, explain them, and defend them against counter arguments. Thus, students learn how to communicate their ideas appropriately. It is clear that this skill can prove very useful in the future. This is best demonstrated by my personal experience. I once enrolled in a neuroscience course where discussions and presentations constituted a major part of the course. At the beginning I struggled with this format because I was not used to speaking in public. In fact, defending my arguments in front of a crowd was a huge challenge for me. Surprisingly, after some time, I found it quite natural to speak in public and I even tried to seize every opportunity to get more practice. Nowadays I do not have any problems at all to communicate my ideas. I am sure that if this neuroscience course had not been interactive, I would not have learned how to speak in public.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that those classes which require interaction are better than non interactive classes. This is because such classes allow students to gain a broad, in-depth, and long lasting knowledge of the subject and because they provide a great opportunity to improve their communication skills.