Some people prefer to plan their activities very carefully. Others choose not to make any plan for their free time. Compare benefits of planning with not planning. Which one do you prefer?

In the modern era, due to the development of entertainment facilities and methods, there are a wide variety of activities and events people can spend their leisure time doing. To carry out such activities, some people plan in advance while others leave essential decisions to last minutes. I personally prefer to carefully make plans for my free time for a plethora of reasons. I will elaborate on my viewpoint below through three noticeable reasons.

My first reason is that sometimes, we need to make some preparations and arrangements when deciding to do an activity or go somewhere. Deciding ahead of time what we want to do definitely eliminates the risk of forgetting to bring required devices and tools, to make reservations if necessary, to collect significant information about the particular activity we intend to do or the particular place we determine to go and things like them. The last time I went on a tour, a myriad of weird and unexpected events happened. My friends and I had a long weekend and although we had planned initially to gather together and play an amusing computer game, suddenly, one of my friends came up with the idea of going on a tour held by the student services center of the university just half an hour before the tour's bus left the campus. That was like a mess. Everyone was running back and forth to pack their bags. Finally, we arrived in front of the bus just on time. However, we could manage to just dress and bring a couple of things or so along for a two-day trip.

The second reason is that not only planning ahead of time does help us prepare well for an activity, it also gives us calmness and peace of mind. I personally feel the most comfortable when finding everything in order. I believe that it is a great way to prevent unnecessary stresses and keep us from being disturbed just before a relief, such as a trip or a concert. This way, we don't have to keep one eye on our watch while driving to see whether we are late or not. Sometimes, these stresses may continue to exist and later stop us from enjoying, say, the movie we are watching or the music we are trying to listen to.

Thirdly, well-organized plans and arrangements can help us avoid unwanted mistakes during the activity, which may waste a lot of time or even disrupt the activity itself. If we don't spend enough time, for example, finding the map of the setting we intend to go we will be likely to get lost on the way and even end up turning back. This is especially important when we are going somewhere or doing something for the first time.

To wrap it up, based on the aforementioned arguments, there are many reasons why I prefer to plan ahead of time rather than decide what I should do at the last minute. Some of them are mentioned above, such as eliminating the risk of leaving the required devices behind, making us feel calm and relaxed, and avoiding unnecessary mistakes. However, that was like a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are some other reasons and examples challenging the claim, which are not mentioned above. All in all, I firmly believe that make preparations and arrangements in advance will help us have an excellent and enjoyable experience.