Some people say that computers have made life easier and more convenient. Other people say that computers have made life more complex and stressful. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Computers are a great technological advance. They have a myriad of benefits such as they save time, store a tremendous amount of information, and help people from all around the world to communicate. On the other hand, computers are a serious threat to the modern society. In my opinion, computers make life complicated. There are a few reasons why I hold this stance.

First of all, because of the computers, people lose their jobs. In the second half of the twentieth century, a sudden proliferation of the computers took place. Owners of large factories started extensive modernization of their businesses. They replaced the hand labor with machines operated by computers programs. Millions of people all around the world lost their jobs. If people are unemployed and can not support their families, life will become incredibly stressful. Despite the opinion of the technophiles (people who support any use of technology) that the invention of the computers have created new professions (software-engineers, programmers), a significant population of people (carpenters, welders) continues losing their jobs. To that end, the unemployment created by the evolution of the computers made the life of many groups of people very difficult.

Second, computers cause a variety of ailments. Office workers, who spend all day staring at a computer screen are at a high risk to become sick. If people did not move enough, they could gain weight. Obesity can lead to diabetes. Complications of diabetes are terrible – some people lose their extremities or die from kidneys insufficiency. People with diabetes have to spend a huge amount of money on medicine to control their blood sugar. It makes their life not only stressful but miserable. Although media agitate people to move actively, visit a gym regularly, and maintain their health, the lion`s share of the office clerks continues to gain weight. So, indirectly, computers decrease life expectancy.

In conclusion, I think that computers definitely make life complex and overwhelming. This is because they increase unemployment and negatively affect people`s health.