Some people say that nowadays there is less communication between family members. Do you agree or disagree? Giver relevant examples from your experience

There is no denying that means of communication among members of the same family have changed over the years. Personally, I agree that nowadays there is less communication between family members for two reasons that will be further explored in the following essay.

Firstly, there is a hectic workload and tight schedules that do not leave any spare time for family members to meet and gather during their daily routine. People spend most of their active hours in their workplaces. Consequently, they are too tired to exert any other activities when they get back to their homes. In fact, a study done by the University of Hong- Kong shows that people spend from 11 to 12 hours daily at work. That means that parents arrive at their homes late and exhausted. Accordingly, less precious time is spent with their family members. Unlike in the past, people worked only for 6 to 8 hours, and thus they had more spare time and energy during the day to spend with their families.

In addition, youth nowadays are very ambitious and more into traveling to other countries for better job opportunities, which makes it hard for them to meet their family members like before. Obviously, migration is a trend. For example, both my sister and my brother moved out to Canada and Australia. Therefore, we can only see each other once a year due to the long distance and expensive flight tickets. However, in the past people had lower expectations and did not have this urge to orient their lives around their careers. It is irrefutable that life has changed from a family-oriented style to a more self-centered career style. I really miss my childhood, when we would gather at dinner, and my father would tell us stories about great men of history.

To sum up, I believe that people spend most of their time working and they move out away from their families to have better jobs. Those 2 factors led to less precious time and communication among family members.