Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

Nowadays, we live in a world full of inequality and poverty in every corner of it. I believe that in order to change that, economical growth and jobs play a big role in the situation. Nevertheless, if we can contribute a bit to make the other people to feel better in the meantime, like giving money to a beggar, we should do it.

There are millions of humans around the globe who can barely survive through the day. Poverty is still a big topic that treatens the security and integrity of thousands of inhabitants. The causes of it vary widely, from bad goverments to the lack of education and jobs, from inflation to drug addictions, etc. Many governments from developing countries, all try to fight this issue through strategies of economical growth: bringing investors to provide jobs for the people, exporting national products and offering help to their populations with social programs and education. Also, many organizations like the UN or UNICEF do a big effort to end poverty. Nevertheless, it is something that will be likely to exist within our societies for years to go.

Said so, I believe that the middle and upper class society have the moral responsibility to be compassionate with the rest. Altought, certainly, we cannot change a lot by giving a coin to a person on the street, maybe we can help this entity go through the day, buy some food or water, or get a jacket. There is no way we can know what the situation of a beggar is. Whether he or she lost their job, whether they have left their homes due to physical or psycological abuse, or whether they are heroin addicts and were kicked out of their houses. There may even be inmmigrants who have not been able to find proper jobs. What we do know is that, in most of the cases, the person begging has a disability or lacks of the education and support to seek for help.

In conclusion, even though, in a small scale we cannot change a lot, I think giving money to human that is suffering, changes a lot for him or her.