Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for people to move out of their hometowns when they become adults, instead of staying in their home communities for their whole lives.

I support the idea of people moving out from their hometowns because it encourages them to grow, mature and become better as adults.

When we are kids, we have needs we have to meet in order to develop healthy and safely. That is why, usually, our parents keep us in certain environment as we age. Nevertheless, as we grow older, we must face the difficulties of responsability and the dangers of life. To grow means to commit mistakes and to learn lessons that will give us the strenght to confront everyday problems. By living in another place that is not where you lived in our childhood, you force yourself to go through situations you do not know and harden your character by confronting them. For example: when a teenager goes on exchange to another country, he or she not only learns a new language but finds a new way of relating to other people. They must face with situations alone, as well as a distinct cultural and social environment.

In order for a person to mature, it is necessary to go to a process of change, challange and uncertainty. By going through complications outside our comfort zone, we become the improved version of ourselves. Also, when we face circumstances where there is no one else to help us and our response needs to be fast, we will certainly look for the courage within ourselves to overcome them. That is what I call maturity. To be the best side of our personality. An example of this is when you move away from your parents and realize that you are now on your own to sign a rent contract, to pay bills and to clean after yourself. This process of change is the best way to become a functional adult.

In conclusion, staying in their home communities is for people who do not want to grow up, develop and get better.