Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with the fact that youngsters over the age of 15 should have the right to vote, because they lack the knowledge, experience and maturity to do so.

New generations have the advantage of technology and a lot of knowledge at the press of a button. Nevertheless, this knowledge is merely teorical and does not account for empirical evidence. Children should go through certain stages of life and complete an amount of studies in order to able to collect the education needed to make such an important decision. If, for example, my 16 year old cousin voted, he would have no idea what the propositions of a candidate would be about. He does not read the newspapers, has never had a class on economy or politics, and he has not even finished secondary school. Clearly, he does not hold the knowledge needed to choose from a left or a right wing party, simply because he does not know what these parties are about.

Secondly, in order for a person to vote, they should have life experience. Although a lot of young voters (18-21 years old) are still studying, many of them have already held jobs and have some civical and financial experience such as processing a drivers licence or opening a bank account. These experiences can give them a hint on what is the job of a goverment. When a person becomes legaly entitled to vote, they should have some idea on how a president or a governor act in order to protect the rights of their citizens. For example, a 20 year old who has already worked in a McDonalds knows what the minimum salary is, which benefits he gets from the goverment and a the percentage of taxes he has to pay. He can now judge whether what he is getting from a government is good or not.

Finally, a kid who is 15 years old, is very likely going throught a difficult stage in his or her life with mayor physical and psychological changes. This fact can hugely affect their decision making and judging. Whereas, generally, an adult can chose their actions based more on logical thinking.

All these reasons support the idea why children from 15 to 18 are still not allowed to vote and why I think this decision is the correct one.