Some people think that human needs for farmland housing and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals Do you agree or disagree with this point of view

It is hard to deny that in a human dominated world as the one we live in today, human needs should be the first priority rather than the needs of animals. Such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that human needs for farmland, housing and industry are more crucial that saving land for endangered animals. However, such a statement suffers both logical and factual fallacies and it should be examined meticulously. As far as the possible threat due to broken chain of the ecosystem and the abundant options thanks to technological advances developed by human, I firmly hold that human needs for land are no more important than saving lands for endangered animals.

First and foremost, the chain in ecosystem is not possible to be repaired once it is broken. There are many species of animals need specific conditions to survive, and these conditions can only be met in certain natural environment. For instance, some species of birds inhabit in trees located in mountains of mid-low altitude, and these birds served as the preys of another species of endangered hawk. As the trees inhibited by birds chopped down by human due to faming activities, the amount of birds would keep decreasing, and there would also be a reduction in hawk population due to a lack of prey. Meanwhile, the likely result of this situation is the hawks will search for other food sources and start to compete with other species for food. Therefore, the rhythm of the natural is interrupted and the original chain of ecosystem is broken, and the broken ecosystem might have unpredictable effect to human society.

Furthermore, the fact that the technological advances and innovation nowadays indicate that human now have much more options to choose in the light of land using. Take the example of the new social housing plan in my city, the government renovated the old and spare building in and around the cites, turning them into new apartments with much higher stories to make the most of the space in city. Had it not been for the advanced architectural development of anti-earthquake technology, the buildings built nowadays would never be this high and thus would not accommodate the skyrocketing population in the city. What I want to emphasize here is that human can be so creative that can inventive and develop lots of novel technologies to meet our current needs. As a result, the options offered to fulfill human needs can be present without sacrificing endangered animals, which are not intelligent enough to make change to their own lives.

To sum up, I strongly believe that human needs for more land is no important than the needs for land of endangered animals. This is because the threat posed to ecosystem by depriving them of their only land might in the end cause harm to human ourselves and also because human are smart enough to make changes to other aspects to attain the same outcome without taking the lands from endangered animals.