Some people think that if companies prohibit sending emails to staff on weekends or during other time out of office hours. Staff's dissatisfactions with their companies will decrease. Others think this will not reduce the overall dissatisfactions among staff. What do you think and why?

It is critically important for a company to make sure that its employees are satisfied with their work. I believe that companies could not increase staff satisfaction by simply forbidding emails on weekends. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, preventing emails during the time out of office hours is not practical for global companies. Thanks to the trend of globalization, nowadays more and more companies are building sites over all the world. The staff on these sites mostly live in different time zones. To keep business ongoing, they rely heavily on emails to exchange ideas and information. They can't send emails only during office hours. Imagining an employee based in New York wants to discuss an issue with an employee based in Shanghai, it will be extremely hard to find a common time to communicate, for Shanghai will be at the night while New York is at the day. In this case, emails are essential for the daily operation of modern companies. Ensuring emails only during office hours is just unpractical.

Furthermore, many other factors would influence the way employees think about their companies. For instance, pay and benefits will play a significant role. I know from my personal experience that many people do not mind reasonable work out of their office hours as long as the job pays them well. In addition, many young people, especially those working in startup companies in China, are willing to use their spare time to do some extra work to move further in their careers. Their passion will be ruined if companies simply prohibit overtime work or emails. In other words, people always have different needs. They will only feel contentment when they have the freedom to choose whatever working style they like.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that stopping emails outside of office hours is not a feasible solution to make people feel happier about their companies. The idea won't work for big companies located in different time zones, and it would discourage those hardworking young people who are ambitious about their future.