The university plans to provide students who are going to enter the university with two summer vacation programs. Which one do you think is better for students?

A. Take some college courses in advance, such as some courses that are related to their future major.

B. Visit history museums or historical relics.

In recent years, there has been a popular trend for universities to provide the high school graduates who are going to enter those universities with a summer vacation program because the administrators in those schools hope to help these students spend a more meaningful summer vacation before the start of their university life. Between the two programs mentioned in the topic, I personally believe that taking some courses connected with their future major is a far better choice for students. I will analyze this viewpoint from three aspects below.

First and foremost, taking some major-related courses ahead of time can effectively help students grasp some fundamental knowledge in their major fields, which can help them better know their major and better understand the more difficult courses they will take in the future. As a matter of fact, the majority of the courses offered by universities in this kind of summer vacation program are introductory courses aiming at helping students get to know the major they choose, but we should never neglect the fact that what is taught in those introductory courses can lay a solid foundation for students’ future studies when they learn some difficult advanced courses. I would like to use my own experience as an example to help explain this. Before I started my university life, I participated in a summer vacation program together with other students choosing the same major in my university. Since our major is data journalism, the school administrators decided to give us the chance to learn some basic courses in this field, including news history and communication theories. It was those courses that helped me better understand data journalism and become more determined to study this major. What I learned during that vacation also made it much easier for me to understand the complex knowledge taught in other required courses later, such as news editing.

Additionally, taking some college courses in advance always proves to be an ideal way to help students better adapt to the pace of study in college. It’s universally acknowledged that high school education is quite different from college education in that high school teachers instill a wide scope of knowledge from a variety of subject areas, while professors in university focus on teaching their students specialized knowledge in one area. It determines that university professors’ requirements for students must differ from those of high school teachers, and it’s never too early for students to get to know those requirements. For instance, students studying my major actually devote most of our time to writing essays, working on group projects and oral presentations, and if we had not taken those introductory courses during that summer vacation, we wouldn’t have got the chance to figure out what we would do in college. I wrote the first essay and did the first presentation in my life when I was learning news history during that summer vacation, and those experiences helped me better adapt myself to my major studies later.

Another equally important point to be mentioned here is that if students learn some courses that have a connection with their major, maybe they will have the chance to earn some credits in advance during the summer vacation before university, so this means they will have more time to learn other optional courses they take interest in when their university life begins. This can without a doubt enrich their university life. Some individuals may argue that visiting history museums or historical relics can also make students’ life more colorful, since those field trips can provide a more relaxing atmosphere in which students can meet different people and make friends with them. However, never should we take it for granted that all students are interested in history. In that case, it makes little sense to require those who are not fascinated by history to visit historical places.

All in all, based on the three reasons listed above, we can now safely conclude that taking some college courses related to their future major ahead of time is a better summer vacation program for students.