Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of modern technology, movies and television have become an essential part of people’s life. However, more and more people today start to realize that some types of films and television are causing negative effects on the way children behave. I cannot agree more with this opinion, and I will explore my points in the following essay.

First, young people tend to trust and chase movie or television stars blindly. As we all know, children lack logical thinking. They are too naive to make correct judgments. Therefore, young people are easy to be affected by celebrities. Sometimes, they even do some crazy things to prove their love for some actors or actresses. For example, a teenage girl in China quit her school and stole a lot of money to meet a movie star. She left her home secretly. No one knew where she was for over three weeks. Her parents were desperate and had to call the police. Finally, polices found this girl, but she never got the chance to meet the actor.

Second, young children, especially teenagers, are likely to imitate violent actions in films and television. As a matter of fact, more and more violent content is appearing in movies and television. It is not hard to imagine that children who often watch this kind of movie will believe that violence is the only way to solve problems. For instance, news had reported that some middle school students were learning from a gangland film. They formed several illegal groups and even fought against other groups using tools like sticks and knives. This news is chilling because it tells us how easily our next generation is influenced by harmful content in movies and TV.

Third, young people are likely to suffer from eye diseases when they stare at the screen to watch movies or television for a long time. As we all know, eye problems like myopia are much more common today among small children. Children start to watch movies, cartoons, and television at an early age, even before their eyes are fully developed. Taking my nephew as an example, he loved all kinds of cartoons very much and began watching them even when he was a little boy, but his parents were so busy that they did not have enough time to guide my nephew’s actions. As a result, my nephew got myopia when he was only three years old.

To sum up, television and movies are causing enormous negative effects on young people. Everybody should work together to help create a healthy environment that emphasizes strong moral values. Only in this way, the well-round development of the next generation can be achieved.