Which one of the following do you think is the best way to get to know a city in a limited amount of time when you first visit it?

-touring historic sites

-going to markets or shops

-eating in restaurant and spending time in cafes

It may seem an impossible task to know a city well just in a short time. However, I believe that we could get a basic understanding of a place quickly through dining in its restaurants or staying for a while in cafes. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, it is very convenient to meet and learn from various people who are eating at restaurants and cafes. During the time you are waiting for your dishes or enjoying the meals, you would meet a number of interesting people there. You could talk about everything you like. For example, about two years ago, I happened to visit a city called Xi'an in a province to the north of my country. During my visit, I met a local resident in a noodle restaurant, who was exciting talking about the glorious history and the great development of the city. Through his introduction, I gained much information and knowledge about the city and the people who live in it.

Furthermore, foods and eating is always an essential part of people's daily life. Different places tend to have their special raw material and method to cook. For instance, in places near the sea, the majority of items served on the menu would be sea fishes,while in cities inside the mainland, inhabitants are likely to take grain or rice as the main food. One could learn the unique food culture just inside a restaurant. For instance, as a person who had never seen the ocean, I was so surprised with dozens of see foods on the table when I first visited a restaurant on an island called Shensi. I did not recognize even a single fish on the menu.

Finally, while touring historic buildings could tell us the past of the city, it does not give much information about the current status of the city. To understand a city well, we must put more focus on its current status. Similarly, even though shopping in markets or shops shows you the modern aspects of the living style, you will not have the opportunity to learn its past and unique culture. Both of them are not good ways to learn about a city.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the best way to learn about a city on your first arrival is to find some local restaurants and spend some time in them. This is because people could learn a lot about the eating habits through foods provided in the restaurants and also they could meet a number of residents in that city.