Some people like to work at home, while others prefer to work in the office. Which do you prefer and why

Technology changed people`s lives in a variety of ways. For instance, in past, people had to go to offices in order to work and there was no alternative to that. However, with the advent of new technologies and facilities, nowadays, people have the option to choose where and how they prefer to work. A myriad of companies suggest that the workers can do their job at home and they do not have to go to the office. Although working at home may have some merits, I still prefer working in an office. In the following paragraphs, I am going to elaborate on my point of view.

First of all, offices are the places which are designed for working, not homes. For instance, they are equipped with work desks and computers and papers and pens are available there. So one does not have to prepare work stuff for himself and can easily use the available materials. It is not only about the work stuff, but also the work situation. It is axiomatic that for achieving the most yield, one needs to concentrate and be focused, and it is not possible without being in an office which is quiet and suitable for this purpose.

Secondly, one of the most significant factors in increasing the work efficiency is collaborating with colleagues. This collaboration will increase the efficiency and also may lead to innovations. One can ask questions and learn new things by working with others and offices are the best places where people can work together and improve their knowledge widely. Not only will it improve the quality of work but also will make the job easier for every individual.

Last but not the least, by working in an office, one does not have to be worried about work stuff all the time and can just leave the work in office. Also it will give people a rigid schedule which can make people more programmed/disciplined in all the aspects of life. Having exact time to work will make it easier to manage the time and prevent spending too much on work, or hobbies. Some psychological studies have been conducted comparing the people who work at home and the people who work in an office, and the results surprisingly proved that the people who work at home suffered from depression more.

To wrap it up, I contend that working in an office is more efficient and it will lead to a better yield. Although working at home may seem to be more comfortable in the/at first sight, it is not at the end. I suggest people think deeply and I am sure they will understand the merits of working in an office. After all, life does not always have to be easy and comfortable and some hard work is needed for making a desirable society.