Some students prefer to study alone. Others prefer to study with a group of students. Which do you
prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer
Everyone has their own preferred study methods, and all of them have their benefits. I am of the
opinion that it is better to study alone than to study as part of a group. I feel this way for two main
reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.
To begin with, studying alone allows me to focus on specific areas of a subject that I am struggling
with, rather than doing a broad overview of the class. I always attend my classes and communicate
regularly with my professors and teachers, so I am constantly aware of which topics I need to focus on
when I study. When I study in a group, everyone in the group has different needs, and the study session is
required to touch on all of them. As a freshman four years ago, I was not aware of this and found myself
wasting my time studying in a group for an important European history exam. I knew that I really needed
to focus on religious history, but sat uncomfortably through a group study session that progressed through
political, cultural, scientific, literary and artistic history before touching only briefly on the issue of
religion. As a result, I performed more poorly on the test than I would have if I had just studied alone.
Furthermore, I recognize that I am a very social creature, and this means that when I study in a group
I am easily distracted. I am not the only person who has this problem; many people will agree that they
too desire to socialize rather than study when in a group of friends and classmates. My example of
studying for that European history class is a good example of this. Not only did I suffer from the fact that
we only touched briefly on my problem area, but certain group members (including myself) were easily
drawn off-topic. We were quick to make jokes about the material being covered, or make tenuous and
meaningless connections between those topics and our own lives. Thankfully I have avoided this problem
since then as I have decided to always study by myself.
In conclusion, I strongly believe that studying alone is better than studying in a group. This is
because studying alone allows me to focus on the areas that I need to, and because it helps me to avoid
socializing when I should be studying.