Some students prefer to study and do homework alone. Others prefer to study and work on class assignments with a group of fellow students. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Studying for exams might be one of the toughest experiences, which require a lot of preparation away from distractions. Personally, I believe that studying alone is better than studying with a group. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, studying alone would minimize distractions. People who tend to study and work alone can focus more than people who work in groups or public places. Working or studying with large or even small groups could be wasting of time. My own experience is a compelling example of this. In my third year in a university, I attended group study sessions to prepare for the Fluid mechanics' exam. During the session, all students were joking around and spending the entire time gossiping and talking. Eventually, I left the group without accomplishing anything. As a result, I performed worse on the test than I would have if I had just studied alone.

Furthermore, studying alone allows individuals to use study tactics that are most suitable for them. Moreover, students who usually study alone are more able to figure out their weak points, so they can focus and work harder on exactly what they need to learn. For instance, in the group study, I mentioned previously, I could not notice that I was fragile in the Bernoulli equation topic, because I did not practice more. Unfortunately, the exam had many questions on this specific topic, and I could not answer any questions.

In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of studying alone outweigh the ones of the group studying. This is because students can focus on the topics that they need to away from any distractions.