At some universities, students are required to take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus, such as how many hours that the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some universities, experts are hired to make these decisions, students are almost never involved. Which approach do you prefer and why?

To make students convenient, some universities hire experts to make decisions that affect students’ daily life on campus, while others require students to participate in those decisions. I hold opinion that universities can require students to make those decisions but not hire experts to do those decisions because this will have several positive effects on universities and students.

Admittedly, experts can make better decisions and help students save time. Experts know what can benefit students, making decisions to make students convenient. To be more concise, experts can help students decide which dishes should be served in the cafeteria. For instance, experts can ask the cafeteria to offer leafy greens such as cabbage, lettuce, and spinach. These foods provide students with natural fiber and will aid digestion. Also, students can focus on their studies and personal business without having to worry about other things. By contrast, if students had to make decisions by themselves, they would lose time studying and attending clubs.

Nevertheless, experts don’t understand students, even if the decisions they make are better, so universities should not hire experts to help students make decisions. Experts can help students make healthy conscious choices in the campus’s cafeteria, but students may be unwilling to accept the decisions and eat the food experts suggest. For example, if experts mandate that all dishes in the cafeteria be leafy greens and prohibit all fast food, I would choose not to eat food in the cafeteria, and instead eat outside because I enjoy fast food despite knowing it is unhealthy.

Second, if universities ask students to make decisions, this can help universities save money and make use of the money to attract more students. Universities should not waste money hiring experts to do such simple things that students can deal with. On one hand, a lot of equipment in schools is out-of-date, so if schools can renew the equipment and refurbish classrooms, schools will attract more students; on the other hand, doing so needs a great deal of money. Thus, universities can let students make decisions instead of relying on experts, and save a ton of money for refurbishing universities.

Last but not least, if students do not depend on experts, they can promote autonomy and practice critical thinking, so universities can let students make the decisions. Universities are not only a place to study, but also a place to learn practical skills. When students are able to get involved in things like decision making, they will have more chances to strengthen self-efficacy and develop critical thinking. Furthermore, if students can engage in those decisions, this will allow them to easily find a job and excel in their future careers. By contrast, if students overly depend on experts, they will lose many opportunities to further develop practical skills. Consequently, if universities require students to make those decisions, this will help students secure employment because students with critical thinking will be excellent compared to others.

To sum up, universities can let students make decisions about their daily life on campus because experts don’t know what students want, because schools can save money, and because students can develop critical thinking.