At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus such as how many hours the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some un

In recent decades, in all civilized societies, how to involve students in decision making process at universities has engendered copious controversies among authorities. One of the important questions which is often raised regarding this issue is whether universities should allow students to involve in making decision about the matters related to on campus daily life or not. I firmly concur with the idea that students should be involved in decision making process by universities. In what follows, I will aptly substantiate my viewpoint.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that student can understand the problems of other students better. In fact, they spend most of their time with other students, which can help them to make a better decision related to on campus daily life. They can consider the factors which experts cannot realize in view of the fact that they are not in touch with the students. A survey conducted in our country shows that the universities involving students in decision making have fewer difficulty addressing students problems. It, also, asserts that the more universities involve students in the process, the less students of the universities complain about these matters.

In approaching this issue, apart from the fact mentioned above, one should regard another subtle point meticulously that students can improve their decision making skills by taking part in making decision about on campus issues. Decision making is a process of selecting formal choice among the given options. For an efficient decision making, one must be in a stable mind to weigh positive and negative options. Providing that students are involved in this process, they can see the results and the consequences of their decisions. Additionally, in the event that they make a wrong decision, the consequences are not catastrophic, and they can simply change their decision. But, this opportunity cannot be found anywhere else. Moreover, taking part in the decision making not only help students to develop their decision making skills, it makes them more responsible as well. They can realize that every decision that they make directly affect the daily life of not only them but also other students. As a result, they will understand they should take the responsibility of what they do.

Taking all aforementioned argument into account leads us to the conclusion that universities should contemplate about involving students in making decision about the matters that affect on-campus daily life. It not only helps universities solve the problems better, but also helps students to develop their decision making skills. Consequently, I strongly suggest that authorities put more emphasis on informing universities of these advantages.