Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade.

-Say nothing.

How to behave in a class or a meeting when the teacher or the meeting leader says something that is incorrect based on our opinion have always been a source of discussion. In my opinion, when the teacher or meeting leader states something incorrect, we should wait until the end of the class and when all the participants are gone, we should talk about the incorrect statement. In what follows, I will aptly substantiate my viewpoint.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that by waiting until the end of the class, we give time to the lecturer to correct the wrong part of his/her taking. In other words, it is possible that a teacher made the minor mistakes only because he/she is tired, and by waiting, the teacher can think about what he/she said and correct his/her wrong statement. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Back in high school, I had a chemistry teacher. Although he was very knowledgeable and experienced, he sometimes made minor mistakes, but the teacher corrected his/her mistake only a few seconds after doing that. Just Imagine all the students start to interrupts the teacher speech when he made an incorrect statement, not only could this interruption stop the teacher from staying focused on teaching, but also it could engender an inappropriate situation for the teacher in which he could not control the class properly.

In approaching this issue, apart from the fact mentioned above, one should regard another subtle point meticulously that interrupting a class and talking about a mistake of a teacher or lecturer in front of other participants can damage his/her reputation. We should always consider that we are all human, and humans are likely to make mistake or say something incorrect. So, it is not appropriate to talk about that mistake out load. An example of my brother’s experience can shed light on this. My brother is a university student, and as he said to me, once in one of the courses he attend, the professor made an incorrect statement, then my brother immediately interrupted the class and said that " you are not right professor"; the professor got angry, and not surprisingly he wanted my brother to leave the class. After that, the professor told my brother that he should know that interrupting the class is not a proper way to speak about a mistake of a lecturer. He wanted my brother to behave in a respectful way.

What I have argued here is that we should choose to speak with a lecturer or teacher about the statements we think is not correct after the class in view of the fact that teacher may correct their statement a bit later, and that by talking about teacher's mistake out loud, we damage her/his reputation. I cannot offer a comforting assurance that these are the only reasons for choosing this approach. I have merely scratched the surface of why we should not interrupt a class to talk about teacher's incorrect speech.