At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus, such as how many hours that the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some universities, experts are hired to make this decisions, students almost never involved. Which approach do you prefer and why.

John Dewey once commented, “ Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself.” With the advent of globalization and the advancement of human civilization, the underlying of education has shifted from getting good scores and succeeding academically to acquiring practical skills and preparing students to become well-informed citizens in the hope that the world would become better and therefore prosper. Since universities are considered a microcosm of the real-world society, it is many educations’ as well as my belief that students should actively partake of making decisions regarding issues on campus that would affect their lives.

To begin with, if students are permitted to be part of the decision-making process on campus, that would help maximize their learning experience on campus. In particular, since many students like to stay up late cramming for their exams, they would know best how much time they would be spending at the library. If they can study at the library however long they would like, their learning experience would definitely become more positive. Or if students can decide what kind of food that the school cafeteria would serve, they would also reduce their time wasting going out to diners or restaurants or doing grocery shopping all the time. They could simply go to the cafeteria, grab the food that they love, finish it, and go back to the dorm or the library to continue studying. Nowadays, the reason why college students do not favor going to the school cafeteria for meals is that the food served there is dismal and is something that students do not love. Hence, they end up having to spend lots of time finding a suitable place for meals off-campus, which takes up a huge chunk of their time, with learning time being sacrificed, therefore. Only by allowing students to be part of the decision-making can they stay more focused and concentrate better on their studies.

Furthermore, allowing students to make decisions about their lives on campus would actually increase the appeal of the school to prospective students. To be more specific, if prospective students recognize that they could personally contribute to school affairs, such as deciding what kind of food should be served at the school cafeteria, they would feel drawn to attending the school since they could gain more control of their lives on campus and feel part of the school community. To exemplify this, University of Wisconsin-Madison, since five years ago, has been opening one of their libraries, College Library, twenty-four-seven, seven days a week, without closing. This decision was originally proposed and endorsed by many students at University of Wisconsin-Madison, who needed a quiet place to study for their exams, work on projects, or discuss group assignments, and has been widely embraced after the proposal was approved. The advantage of having a library open twenty-four hours, seven days a week, and three-hundred-and-thirty-five days does not stop here. According to the admissions office at University of Wisconsin-Madison, the rate of high-school-students applying to the school has skyrocketed by thirty percent and when asked why applying to University of Wisconsin-Madison, these high-school students report that they are particularly fascinated by College Library since they are fond of the idea of pulling an all-nighter at the school library and learning the whole night. That the UW-Madison students made the decision about the opening time of College Library is just one of the things that the student body does for the campus. However, the ripple effect that this decision brought forth has helped the university itself significantly through attracting more students to attend UW-Madison.

Irrefutably, some dissidents might disavow my arguments by claiming that experts themselves are more seasoned and they can make more professional decisions than can students. Besides, students’ main responsibility entails faring well academically. Students participating in extracurriculars might be deprived of precious time of attending classes, going to lectures, or working with professors. However, have these people not realized that participating in making decisions about student affairs is also a process of learning? Learning to fight for their benefits or learning to coordinate with bureaucratic personnel is part of learning whose importance should transcend that of learning in class. Once students enter workforce, whatever kinds of jobs that they land, they need to know how to orchestrate the best plan, communicate with their colleagues, or work in concerted efforts so that the team can reap the greatest benefits. As a result, I think that students should be given the latitude to decide and control their own affairs on campus.