It’s difficult for teachers to be both popular (well-liked) and effective in helping students learn.

Victor Hugo once commented, “He who who opens a school door, closes a prison.” The essence of the quote speaks volumes about the importance of education and its attendant benefits that education can confer on a person. Therefore, more and more people have underscored the importance of education by investing into many resources, time or money. Teachers play a critical role in education, since teachers are the main purveyors of knowledge transmission and they can be students’ role models. Therefore, it is many educators’ as well as my belief that it is actually not that difficult for teachers to be both popular and effective in helping students learn.

To begin with, popular teachers find themselves more empathetic of students’ learning issues, meaning that they have better and more accessible ways to understanding what kinds of learning issues students are having, thus permitting them to come up with solutions. Since these popular teachers are well-liked by students, students will be more willing to approach teachers and discuss their learning issues without feeling mortified or intimated by teachers. In this case, popular teachers can in fact orchestrate effective learning techniques to help students iron out their learning troubles. When in the grade school, I encountered an English teacher, named Hanson, who was very charismatic because of his affable and congenial personality. He often joked or sang or danced in class, hoping to buoy us and stimulating us to engage in learning. The way he carried himself was pretty encouraging since he never acted like as if he were the teacher. Instead, everyone in my class treated him as a big brother. Whenever in class, we felt warmth, not a bit of stress or pressure, compared with how we felt in other classes. Therefore, more and more people fell in love with learning English, me with no exception. Due to his friendly personality, whenever we had troubles in learning, we wouldn’t hesitate to ask him for help. One time, I had to deliver a public speech in English, but I had had a tremendous stage fright, not to mention the pressure coupled with giving the speech in a foreign language. Troubled by this issue, I went to Mr. Hanson for help, who was very kind enough to proffer me some practical suggestions. He suggested that I could picture the audience down below were all watermelons, and they were all lifeless. In that way, I could feel less nervous. The technique worked like a charm and I eventually overcame my fear of speaking on the stage all thanks to Mr. Hanson’s help.

Furthermore, well-liked teachers are more creative. To be more specific, well-liked teachers tend to come up with interesting ideas or techniques to engage with students, who in turn embrace their teachers’ creativity and end up liking teachers, the result of such loop, most importantly, being students’ improved learning. To exemplify this, when I was in undergraduate, I took a course called Grammar in Use, where the professor incorporated a wide variety of techniques such as multi-media visualization and poster presentation and website-designing to help students better understand how English grammar is actually used in life, such as “ten items or less” instead of “ten items or fewer.” Some of the classmates designed a website where they presented and documented real-life grammar whereas some even recorded podcasts. Everyone was fascinated by the difference between English grammar in textbooks and that in life. The activities designed by our professor were so engaging that many people fell in love with English grammar and took more advanced grammar class with the same professor the next semester.

Irrefutably, some dissidents may disavow my arguments by claiming that well-liked teachers are too busy to improve their teaching. That is, they might channel most of their time maintaining their popularity or wooing students. Therefore, student might not be able to learn as much as they might with a less popular teacher. However, have these people not reapplied that these two categories are not necessarily conflicting? In fact, popular teachers can make students’ learning effective because essentially, the very root of student’s effective learning springs from students’ motivation to learn. If students are not galvanized to learn, however effective the teaching materials or techniques are, students will juts not feel the fruit of their education. What can therefore make students feel motivated? Popular teachers can. Well-liked teachers can break down the psychological barriers or fears that students have for learning. Only with this very first step can an effective learning take place, therefore inspiring students to pursue knowledge. Having an inspiring and popular teacher around can ignite students’ passion for learning and it is not that difficult for well-liked teachers to be popular and helpful and effective in helping students learn. After all, like what Albert Einstein said, “It is the supreme art of to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.”