"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in the letter asseverates that Parson City residents must have underscored more the importance of good public-school education than do Blue City residents and the author’s supposition is predicated on the ground that Parson City has been spending twice as much per year as Blue City on the public education in recent years. Though the argument appears ostensibly appealing, several pieces of evidence are needed in order to fully justify the soundness of the argument made in the letter.

First and foremost, the author needs to supply relevant evidence on whether the monetary measurement is the only yardstick that can be utilized to appraise the inferiority or superiority of a city’s public school education. If the evidence indicates that there are other variables that factor into the quality of public school education, then the argument proposed might become tenuous. For instance, it might be the case that the administrative office in Blue City realizes the exact deficiency of its public school system and therefore apportions an appropriate amount of money to iron out the issue. Conversely, Parson city officials do not pinpoint the root cause of the deficiency in their public schools, and therefore, have been allocating a huge amount of money to solving problems, the underlying cause of which, however, is not properly addressed. Much money is spent each year, but few problems are truly solved. However, if the author could have incorporated the evidence that money, all things being equal, is the surest way to measure the quality of public-school education, then the author’s argument would have been further cemented.

Another aspect that demands more evidence is that although both cities have the same number of residents, do both cities have the same number of students? If the answer to this question is negative, this might have tremendous repercussion on the foothold of the argument. For instance, maybe Blue City has a smaller number of students attending public schools than Parson City does. Therefore, Parson City would certainly need to spend more on each student. In this case, one single student might in actuality benefit more from Blue City’s budgetary priority, given the small number of the students in Blue City. This would certainly repudiate the central claim made in the argument about Parson City residents valuing more a good education in public schools. Instead, one could make a cogent case that it might be the Blue City residents who value more its public-school education since each student could receive more, proportionally, from the city government.

The largest leap in the argument is that allocating more funds to public school education does not necessarily equate to a higher value on good education. There are a wide array of reasons as to why Parson City needs to budget more of its tax revenues to the betterment of public-school education. Such a question as exactly why Parson City is investing more financially into the public education has to be properly addressed. Students attending public schools in Parson City might underperform, academically, than their counterparts in Blue City, thereby forcing the Parson City government to finance more its public school system. Students in Blue City need not demand many financial resources as those in Parson City because they may have been equipped with better curricular designs and teaching faculty in public school system from the inception. Therefore, one plausible scenario is that residents in both city equally value the importance of good education in public schools in their respective cities; however, Parson City might just need to budget more its finance to the public-school system simply because the students there do not fare that well academically, whereas students in Blue City generally stand out academically. If the evidence proves that this is the case, then the validity of the argument might be weakened since the residents in both cities emphasize the significance of the public-school education.

All told, although the author puts forth a cogent case at first blush regarding Parson City residents valuing more the public-school education system, more apropos evidence needs to be properly discussed and taken into account. These pieces of evidence, if not limited to, entail whether money or public fund is the only way to measure the value of good public education system, the proportion of students in each city, and other factors that can contribute to the quality of public school education.