The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper. "In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do." Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the editor of parson city's local newspaper, the author argues that parson city residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than blue city residents do. To buttress his argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, parson city has put twice as much per year as blue city for its public school; second, majority of money spent on schools from taxes each city government collects. While it might be true that parson emphasizes the significance of education and put more financial resources in public school, we cannot fully evaluate the argument due to incomplete evidences.

To begin with, the first piece of information the author needs to provide is the amount of money received from the societies in two cities. it is true that governments invest a large amount of money in public school, but the author fails to take other types of financial support into consideration. it is plausible that blue received considerable donation from private supports or from alumnae donation, then there is less need for government to support the public schools, since money from private investments has been enough to compensate the total operation costs of running schools. In addition, it is likely that blue has much more private schools than parson, so that schools themselves can collect tuition from every student, thereby curtailing the validity of the argument. what’s more, the letter only describes the recent condition. if this action is atypical in parson, whereas blue city spend much more money in recent decades, then it would be mistaken to make the comparison from the letter. Unless the author provides detailed information about exact investment over the past decades, we cannot simply conclude from recent statistics.

Moreover, the evidence that the author needs to offer is the number of students in two cities respectively. The author only provides information about number of residents. although these two cities have same number of residents, it does not mean their student numbers are also the same. In all likelihood, parson has more than twice number of students than blue, then both labor and material resources in blue are naturally less than those in parson. Additionally, to better evaluate the argument, the author ought to provide the exact amount of money invested by governments. although twice amount might seem not a small number, what if both proportion and absolute values are small? In this case, even if parson spent twice as much as blue, money might not differ significantly.

Last but not least, we should be offered more evidences of actions of residents. The conclusion that parson city residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than blue city residents do is not convincing, because the author did not provide any support about what residents do. even though the statistics are persuasive, they only represent behaviors or actions from government respects. we should also be informed about how family members pay attention to education. For instance, in individual level, every family in blue invests larger proportion of their income to education, then it is hastily to get the conclusion given in the letter. Not only money or financial supports are essential in education, but also time and efforts are equally crucial. In all likelihood, parents in blue city spend much more time with their children, including exercising together and helping with their homework, then the conclusion might not be justified. Without taking time and money of both individual and social level into consideration, we cannot readily get the conclusion.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion is relied on incomplete evidences. To better evaluate and strengthen the argument, the editor of newspaper should add the evidences as follows: first, the total amount money the schools receive and use in two cities; second, number of students in every public schools; finally, both time and financial efforts in individual levels.