"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this paragraph, the author insists that people who live in Parson City give more weight to public education than people in Blue City in support with several reasons. Though, this claim is unconvincing because it inferred from several unsubstantiated assumptions without valid evidence. In order to make this argument reliable, close scrutiny that bolsters author’s claim needs to be added. Otherwise, it is vulnerable to criticism.

First and foremost, the letter makes a mistake in relating money spent to schools and ardor of residents for better education from the passage citing their budgets. People who have decision are executives of government, not residents. The residents can purport their opinion but it is hard to say that responsibility of low expenses for schooling is due to an unenthusiastic idea. So, to assess this supposition, we need to investigate whether residents in both cities agree with their education policy. If the thought of residents is identical with policies, then it will anneal the assertion. If not, this presumption will be invalid.

Furthermore, mentioning the comparison of the budgets allocated to schools between two cities, the letter presumes that the more they investigate, the more their interest in education will represent. However, the money is not the only element enhancing the quality of the education. There are also many ways to contribute to schooling. Non-fiscal supports like persistent checking ability of the children, encouraging the children to think more and giving a good situation to study can be a criterion of concern for the public education. For supporting the opinion of the letter, a questionnaire about the actions of the parents is required. If there are other actions at home for their children, it is hard to say that their attention is low. If not, the assertion will be valid.

Last but not least, it is possible to guess that the letter presumes that the other conditions of two cities about the public education are same without the budgets from the passage referring only difference of the money. Two cities might have different numbers of students and schools. Even though the numbers are the same, the quality of school infrastructure can be quite different to other, so they need more money to rebuild their buildings which requires a lot of money. So, we need to examine whether there is a difference between the two cities. The difference of conditions will lead this supposition unreasonable, but if the conditions of the two cities are same, then this presumption will be appropriate.

In conclusion, the argument lacks clarity as many details seem to be omitted for such an important issue. To better assess the argument, the author needs to provide more supplementary investigation including the level of consent with their policy, action in the home, and the difference of conditions. Lacking such information, the author’s claim remains far-fetched.