Woven baskets charecterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a " Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim river form Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crosed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In this paragraph, the author insists that palean baskets were not only produced in palean. Though, this claim is unconvincing because it inferred from several unsubstantiated assumptions without valid evidence. In order to make this argument reliable, close scrutiny that bolster author’s claim needs to be added. Otherwise, it is vulnerable to criticism.

First and the most, mentioning that the deep and broad river refrained people from trading, the author presumes that the river was too big to cross in past as well as present. To assess this assumption, there should be clear evidence that validate maintenance of size of river. Documents of geological shift or scientific evidence of erosion could show past figure of the river. If some evidences show that Brim river was shallow enough to ramble, author's argument will be weakened. But, river was in same shape as today, it will be annealed.

Another problem of this opinion is that the author assumes that there is no transportation method from the passage citing that absent vestige of boat. To evaluate whether this supposition is valid or not, identification of absence of boat and presence of another shipping method are needed to be addressed. In the author’s claim, as a transportation, boat is the only one cited. However, there is an possibility for existence of another method like bridge or cable that connect across Brim river. Also, boat existed in past but, lack of scientific development which can search trace can ruin conclusive evidence. So, if there is evidence of transportation, the author’s insistence will wane but, if not, it will be strengthened.

Last but no least, ‘a palean basket’ is not to considered as an evidence. Typhoon , floods or strong wind can transfer a palean basket to other regions. Many possible coincidences can make movement of a few baskets. For more explicit opinion, more number of palean basket is required to be corroborated as clear evidence.

In conclusion, the argument lacks clarity as many details seem to be omitted for such an important issue. To better assess the argument, the author needs to provide more supplementary investigation including shift of shape of Brim river, vestige of transportation, more palean baskets. Lacking such information, the author’s claim remains far-fetched.